Friday, July 17, 2015

Tsipras announces cabinet reshuffle, 10 ministerial posts to change hands

First entry: 17 July 2015 - 21:30 Athens, 18:30 GMT
Last update: 17 July 2015 21:30 Athens, 18:30 GMTPolitics
Tsipras announces cabinet reshuffle, 10 ministerial posts to change hands
Greek Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras on Friday announced a cabinet reshuffle, replacing ministers that have either resigned or are leaving the government.
Panos Skourletis, until now minister of labour, will become Productive Reconstruction, Energy and Environment Minister in the place of Panagiotis Lafazanis, who is leaving the government.
The labour ministry, which will also now incorporate the social insurance portfolio, will be transferred to George Katrougalos, until now the alternate minister for administrative reform. ANEL MP Pavlos Haikalis will join the government as deputy minister for social insurance.
The administrative reform portfolio will in turn be taken over by Christoforos Bernardakis, formerly the general secretary for coordinating government operations. While Hania MP Pavlos Polakis is to become deputy interior minister for administrative reorganisation.
The posts left empty at the foreign ministry - following the departure of Euclid Tsakalotos  and Nikos Chountis (who joins the European Parliament) - will be filled by Syriza MP Yiannis Amanatidis as deputy minister and Sia Anagnostopoulou as alternate minister for European affairs.
Replacing former Alternate Finance Minister Nadia Valavani, who has resigned, is the vice-president of the tax office employees federation Tryfon Alexiadis.
Kostas Isichos will be replaced as alternate defence minister by Dimitris Vitsas.
Syriza MP for Arta Olga Gerovasili will take over as Deputy Minister to the Prime Minister and government spokesperson.
 The new cabinet members will not be sworn in on Friday, as originally planned, due to the emergency situation caused by the fires.
The composition of the new government is as follows:
Prime Minister: Alexis Tsipras
Government Vice-President: Yiannis Dragasakis
Interior - Administration Reconstruction Minister: Nikos Voutsis
Alternate Minister for Administrative Reform: Christoforos Bernardakis
Alternate Minister for Civil Protection: Yiannis Panousis
Alternate Minister for Migration Policy: Tasia Christodoulopoulou
Deputy Minister for Interior and Administrative Reorganisation: Pavlos Polakis
Deputy Minister for Macedonia-Thrace: Maria Kollia-Tsarouha
Economy, Infrastructure, Shipping and Tourism Minister: George Stathakis
Alternate Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Networks: Christos Spirtzis
Alternate Shipping Minister: Thodoris Dritsas
Alternate Tourism Minister: Elena Kountoura
Productive Reconstruction, Environment and Energy Minister: Panos Skourletis
Alternate Minister for the Environment: Yiannis Tsironis
Alternate Minister for Rural Development: Vangelis Apostolou
Deputy Minister for Rural Development: Panagiotis Sgouridis
Finance Minister: Euclid Tsakalotos
Alternate Minister for General Accounting Office issues: Costas Mardas
Alternate Minister for Revenues: Tryfon Alexiadis
Education, Culture and Religious Affairs Minister: Aristidis Baltas
Alternate Minister for Culture: Nikos Xydakis
Alternate Minister for Education: Tasos Kourakis
Alternate Minister for Research and Innovation: Costas Fotakis
Deputy Minister for Sports: Stavros Kontonis
Labour Minister: George Katrougalos
Alternate Minister for Social Solidarity: Theano Fotiou
Deputy Minister for Social Insurance: Pavlos Haikalis
Deputy Minister for Combatting Unemployment: Rania Antonopoulou
Health and Social Insurance Minister: Panagiotis Kouroumblis
Alternate Minister for Health: Andreas Xanthos
Foreign Minister: Nikos Kotzias
Alternate Minister for European Affairs: Sia Anagnostopoulou
Deputy Minister: Yiannis Amanatidis
National Defence Minister: Panos Kammenos
Alternate Minister: Dimitris Vitsas
Deputy Minister: Nikos Toskas
Justice Minister: Nikos Paraskevopoulos
Minister of State for Combatting Corruption: Panagiotis Nikoloudis
Minister of State for Coordinating Government Operations: Alekos Flambouraris
Deputy Minister: Terens Quick
Minister of State: Nikos Pappas
Deputy Minister to the Prime Minister and Government spokesman: Olga Gerovasili
Parliament spokesmen: Gavriil Sakellaridis
                                                Nikos Fylis
                                                Alexandros Triantafyllidis

No comments: